## Preface

The 10th European Workshop on Reinforcement Learning (EWRL), held June 30–July 1, 2012 in Edinburgh, Scotland, served as a forum to discuss the current state-of-the-art and future research directions in the continuously growing field of reinforcement learning (RL). We made EWRL an exciting and well-received event for the international RL community. Therefore, we appreciate that we could attract a wide spectrum of researchers by co-locating EWRL 2012 with the International Conference on Machine Learning.

We were very excited about our outstanding invited speakers Martin Riedmiller (University of Freiburg), Drew Bagnell (Carnegie Mellon University), Shie Mannor (Technion), and Richard Sutton (University of Alberta), who gave great overviews of current research and diverse application areas of reinforcement learning. EWRL 2012 had 63 submissions from which 43 (68%) were accepted for presentation at the workshop. These post-proceedings contain 12 (19%) selected revised papers submitted to EWRL 2012.

We thank our program committee for a fantastic job: Abdeslam Boularias, Adam White, Alborz Geramifard, Alessandro Lazaric, Amir-massoud Farahmand, Andre Damotta Salles Barreto, Andrew McHutchon, Bert Kappen, Bradley Knox, Byron Boots, Carlos Diuk Wasser, Christian Daniel, Christian Igel, Damien Ernst, David Silver, Doina Precup, Dvijotham Krishnamurthy, Emma Brunskill, Evangelos Theodorou, Fernand Fernandez, Francisco Melo, Gerhard Neumann, Hado van Hasselt, Jan Peters, Jens Kober, Jose Antonio Martin H., Jun Morimoto, Katharina Mülling, Kristian Kersting, Manuel Lopes, Marco Wiering, Martijn van Otterlo, Martin Riedmiller, Masashi Sugiyama, Matthew Hoffman, Matthew Robards, Matthieu Geist, Michal Valko, Mohammad Ghavamzadeh, Nikos Vlassis, Odalric-Ambrym Maillard, Oliver Kroemer, Olivier Pietquin, Pedro Ortega, Peter Auer, Peter Dayan, Peter Sunehag, Philipp Hennig, Philippe Preux, Remi Munos, Ronald Ortner, Shivaram Kalyanakrishnan, Stephane Ross, Teodor Moldovan, Thomas Furmston, Thomas J. Walsh, Thomas Rückstieß, Tobias Jung, Tobias Lang, Todd Hester, Tom Erez, Tom Schaul, Verena Heidrich-Meisner, Yuri Grinberg, Zhikun Wang, and Zico Kolter.

December 2012

The Editorial Team:

Marc Deisenroth Technische Universität Darmstadt

Csaba Szepesvári University of Alberta

Jan Peters Technische Universität Darmstadt