Conference on Learning Theory 2019: Preface

Alina Beygelzimer

BEYGEL@VERIZONMEDIA.COM

Yahoo Research

Daniel Hsu

DJHSU@CS.COLUMBIA.EDU

Columbia University

Editors: Alina Beygelzimer and Daniel Hsu

These proceedings contain the 118 papers accepted to and presented at the 32nd Conference on Learning Theory (COLT), held in Phoenix, Arizona, on June 25-28, 2019, as part of the ACM Federated Computing Research Conference. These papers were selected by the program committee, with the additional help of external expert reviewers, from 393 submissions. Every paper was presented in a 10 minute talk and in a poster session. These proceedings also contain six open problems. They were selected by the Open Problems Chair, Jacob Abernethy, and external reviewers from among eight submissions.

The paper "Statistical Learning with a Nuisance Component" by Dylan Foster and Vasilis Syrgkanis received the best paper award. The papers "The Complexity of Making the Gradient Small in Stochastic Convex Optimization" by Dylan Foster, Ayush Sekhari, Ohad Shamir, Nathan Srebro, Karthik Sridharan, and Blake Woodworth; and "VC Classes are Adversarially Robustly Learnable, but Only Improperly" by Omar Montasser, Steve Hanneke, Nathan Srebro shared the best student paper awards.

In addition to the papers and open problems published in these proceedings, the conference program included two invited talks: one by Emma Brunskill and another by Moritz Hardt.

The Local Arrangement Chairs were Peter Grünwald and Yishay Mansour. The Sponsorship Chairs were Satyen Kale and Robert Schapire. The Women in Machine Learning Theory lunch, sponsored by Women in Machine Learning, was organized by Ruth Urner. Our Webmaster was Philippe Rigollet. We would like to express our gratitude to the entire program committee, to the external reviewers, and to the other organizers and chairs for their invaluable contributions to the success of the conference.

Finally, we would like to thank our generous sponsors. The platinum sponsors were Amazon Web Services, American Express, Google, Jump Trading, and Western Digital. The gold sponsors were Baidu, Microsoft, and Oracle. The silver sponsors were DE Shaw & Co, Mobileye, Two Sigma, and Yahoo Research. The student paper awards were supported by the Machine Learning Journal and the Mark Fulk Foundation.

Alina Beygelzimer and Daniel Hsu COLT 2019 Program Chairs

Program Committee: Jacob Abernethy (Georgia Tech), Alekh Agarwal (Microsoft Research), Shivani Agarwal (University of Pennsylvania), Shipra Agrawal (Columbia University), Alexandr Andoni (Columbia University), Sivaraman Balakrishnan (Carnegie Mellon University), Peter Bartlett (UC Berkeley), Mihail Belkin (Ohio State University), Shai Ben-David (University of Waterloo), Guy Bresler (MIT), Emma Brunskill (Stanford University), Sebastien Bubeck (Microsoft Research), Nicolo Cesa-Bianchi (University of Milan), Moses Charikar (Stanford University), Arnak Dalalyan (ENSAE), Sanjoy Dasgupta (UC San Diego), Ilias Diakonikolas (University of Southern California), John Duchi (Stanford University), Tim van Erven (Universiteit Leiden), Vitaly Feldman (Google), David Gamarnik (MIT), Rong Ge (Duke University), Claudio Gentile (Universita degli Studi dell'Insubria), Peter Grunwald (Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica), Moritz Hardt (UC Berkeley), Elad Hazan (Princeton University and Google Brain), Prateek Jain (Microsoft Research), Satyen Kale (Google), Varun Kanade (University of Oxford), Daniel Kane (UC San Diego), Adam Klivans (UT Austin), Wouter Koolen (Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica), Tomer Koren (Google), Akshay Krishnamurthy (Microsoft Research), Edo Liberty (Amazon AI Labs), Roi Livni (Tel Aviv University), Gabor Lugosi (ICREA and Pompeu Fabra University), Haipeng Luo (University of Southern California), Raghu Meka (UC Los Angeles), Ankur Moitra (MIT), Andrea Montanari (Stanford University), Praneeth Netrapalli (Microsoft Research), Gergely Neu (Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Behnam Neyshabur (New York University), Francesco Orabona (Boston University), Vianney Perchet (ENS Paris-Saclay and Criteo), Luis Rademacher (UC Davis), Maxim Raginsky (University of Illinois), Sasha Rakhlin (MIT), Aaditya Ramdas (Carnegie Mellon University), Philippe Rigollet (MIT), Robert Schapire (Microsoft Research), Ohad Shamir (Weizman Institute), Aaron Sidford (Stanford University), Karthik Sridharan (Cornell University), Xiaorui Sun (University of Illinois at Chicago), Vasilis Syrgkanis (Microsoft Research), Csaba Szepesvari (University of Alberta), Matus Telgarsky (University of Illinois), Gregory Valiant (Stanford University), Michal Valko (INRIA), Santosh Vempala (Georgia Tech), Roman Vershynin (UC Irvine), Aravindan Vijayaraghavan (Northwestern University), Nisheeth Vishnoi (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), Mengdi Wang (Princeton University), Manfred Warmuth (UC Santa Cruz), Rebecca Willett (University of Chicago), Bob Williamson (Data61 and Australian National University), David Woodruff (Carnegie Mellon University).